The Night Before the First Day of School

I always thought I would go back to school after I finished my undergraduate degree, I told myself I would wait until I knew what I wanted to go back for and not just rush into something.  Well 14 years later and I am finally taking the leap.  And as I realize now more than ever, I am following a passion of mine and a dream that I have had for a long time.  Tomorrow is my first day as a part-time culinary school student at the San Francisco Cooking School.   I am feeling that nervous, excited feeling about my first day, the good thing is that I do not have to think about what to wear, just need to show up and be ready to learn to cook!

I love to buy school supplies, Trapper Keepers and pencil pouches were my favorite back in the day – but this time I have bought new Dansko clogs, some plain white t-shirts and a lock for my locker.  The best part of my supplies are provided by school – the chef uniform (including a chef coat, chef pants, apron and a hat, no not that tall hat, more like the skull cap style – picture to come after the first day), the knife set and of course the ingredients which will fuel this education.

I can’t wait to share some of what I am learning with you, I have no doubt that this is going to be an incredible experience.  This is also my first attempt at a blog, so stick with it, I will do my best to make it interesting with some useful tips and the tales of what it is like to work almost full time (I am going down to 4 days a week) and be back in school at 35.

3 responses to “The Night Before the First Day of School

  1. Nancy Licata

    We are so excited for you, and look forward to you sharing some of what you learn. And of course eating your delicious food! So happy you are making a dream come true.

  2. Craig

    Good for you!! Go full steam ahead and don’t look back! Congratulations

  3. Dick Vis

    Ellery – The excitement and positive energy that you are portraying with your new career development brings back so many amazing memories of my teaching career. I always tried to get kids to “chase their dreams” and to believe in themselves. After struggling with your decision to leave your comfort zone and pursue a dream is awe inspiring. I am really happy for you and I know that you will do well in your new profession. Thanks for the updates; I look forward to following your journey. Keep your fingers tucked when chopping.

Leave a Reply

