Inspired!

I knew I was excited to go back to school, but I don’t think I really realized the extent to which I was going to feel invigorated and inspired by this experience.  In her introduction, Jodi,  the founder of the school, said something to the effect that all of the students in the class come from different background and different experiences, but that we are united by the passion and love we have for food and for sharing that food with others.  I love to cook, always have, but for some reason had not really thought of it in the context of taking care of others, which struck a chord for me.  As we went around the table and shared our reasons for enrolling in this program, I found that something that each person said resonated with me, including those who said “I have always dreamed about going to culinary school” – turns out, I have had this thought in the back of my head for at least 15 or 20 years….if not more.  Needless to say, I am thrilled to be starting down this path and it seems that I am in good company with my 12 classmates and our Chef instructor.

I shared this photo with some close family and friends and was super touched by the responses I got of encouragement for folloEllery_SFCS_FirstDaywing my dream, taking a leap of faith, oh and of course the comments on sweet knives behind me – talk about a well stocked kitchen (we will get to that soon).  It really struck me that I would not be here without this community of support behind me, encouraging me along and inspiring me to go for this.  I thank you all for that and look forward to sharing more of this experience with you.

Leave a Reply

