Lessons from the First Week

What an awesome first week!  This was definitely the right decision for me – I went back and forth, over and over and over again trying to decide if I should do this – taking a leap of faith into a whole new world, the unknown of what I will do on the other end of it all, the financial impact and more swirled around in my head for the last seven months – and now one week in, I am confident that I am on a path that will lead me to my next best place.  I have a ton to learn and with the knowledge of knowing there is so much out there for me to gain from this experience, I am feeling a renewed sense of confidence in myself, of being in the right place and of course a ton of excitement for all of the fun that this is sure to be.  No doubt it will also be a lot of hard work, but in the best possible way.

The first three classes were full of lessons, lots of talking and the further into we got, more and more hands-on cooking.  Here are the top five lessons of the week and the top five things I learned (or re-learned) to make.

The Lessons:

1.  Knife skills are going to take a LONG time to master.

2.  Standing for 4- 6 hours at a time is tiring.  Don’t lock your knees when you are standing still for that long – turns out that can cut the flow of blood and cause you to pass out.

3.  Don’t be afraid of salt – it is a good thing.

4.  Taste your food and season along the way….it helps to build depth and structure to what you are creating.

5.  I am gong to break stuff, spill stuff, cut myself, burn myself and mess stuff up along the way.  I am planning to learn from my mistakes.

The Food:

1.  A french omelet (with no brown spots) and a bit of softness inside.

2.  Soup – lots of it.  Root vegetable, curried carrot, potato leek and my favorite one:  Lettuce & Pea Soup – yep, lettuce in soup and it was delicious.

3.  Clarified butter.  Oh and some delicious croutons cooked in it.

4.  Slaw (finely shredded cabbage) with cilantro, lime, oil and toasted seeds (pumpkin, cumin & sesame).

5.  Stock – chicken and vegetable.  We will be making this on a regular basis as it is the base for many other items.

One response to “Lessons from the First Week

  1. Leah D

    I am so proud of you Ells. I love you to pieces.
    “We both like soup”.

Leave a Reply

